By-Election 2017

Official By-Election Results

Ando, Scott109
Barmeier, Norman115
Cunliffe, Jaime67

By-Election October 21, 2017

The Village of Lions Bay held a by-election for the office of one Councillor on Saturday, October 21, 2017. The term for the position will end in October 2018, when the next general local election will be held. The by-election was held to fill the vacant Councillor position.

The nomination period closed September 15, 2017 and the declared candidates were: Scott Ando, Norman Barmeier, and Jaime Cunliffe.

Eligible voters were able to cast their ballots at Broughton Hall on October 21st or during the advance voting opportunity on Wednesday, October 11, 2017. Electors could also vote by mail ballot.

Notice of All Candidates Meeting

There will be an All-Candidates Meeting on Thursday, September 28, 2017 at 7:00 pm in Broughton Hall.

Requesting a Mail Ballot Package

Between September 25, 2017 and 4:00 p.m. on October 16, 2017, you must submit the following information to the Village of Lions Bay by mail to PO Box 141, 400 Centre Road, Lions Bay, BC V0N 2E0, by telephone at 604-921-9333, by fax at 604-921-6643, or by email at

  1. full name;
  2. residential address;
  3. address of the property in relation to which you are voting (for non-resident property electors);
  4. method of delivery of your mail ballot package;
    (a) pick up at the Village of Lions Bay office;
    (b) regular letter mail through Canada Post to residential address, OR
    (c) regular letter mail through Canada Post to an alternate address provided when requesting the mail ballot package.
  5. If you are not on the list of electors, whether you are going to be registering as a resident or a non-resident property elector (in order to ensure that you receive the correct registration application form in your package).

Mail ballot packages will be sent out commencing on September 26, 2017, or as soon after that date as ballots are available from the printers. To be counted, your mail ballot must be received by the Chief Election Officer no later than 8:00 pm on October 21, 2017.