Metro Vancouver Regional District (MVRD)

Metro Vancouver, or Metro - legally, Metro Vancouver Regional District (MVRD)

Metro Vancouver comprises 21 member municipalities, one electoral area and one treaty first nation. Through Metro Vancouver each member municipality has a say in how the region is run. The MVRD, Metro Vancouver Water District (MVWD) and Metro Vancouver Sewerage and Drainage District (MVSDD) Boards of Directors comprise Mayors and Councillors from the member municipalities, on a "representation by population" basis, but Lions Bay does not sit on either of the latter two boards as we do not receive water or sewer services from Metro.

Metro Vancouver provides several services, including Air Quality and Climate Change, acting as a local government to Electoral A, Environmental Regulation and Enforcement, Financial Services, and much more. Currently, Metro Vancouver is updating Metro 2040, the regional growth strategy and has released a draft Metro 2050. The draft Metro 2050 is open for comments until November 26, 2021.